Rangers take out WNWBL Championship

In a gripping WNWBL Finals weekend, the Victoria Dandenong Rangers fought against the odds to reclaim the WNWBL Championship Title for 2012.


“It’s incredible to win the 2012 WNWBL Championships. We prepared so much during this whole season and it’s an incredibly satisfying experience to be the 2012 Champions. It’s a well deserved win, especially with the Paralympics around the corner.

The Stacks Goudkamp Bears were formidable opposition. But we had stronger defence throughout the weekend, and Cobi Crispin was unstoppable when it came to scoring points. I’m proud of our team and all their achievements this season. Well done! We can’t wait for 2013.” said Shelley Chaplin, Captain of the Victoria Dandenong Rangers, Most Valuable 3 Point Player and member of the 2012 All Star Five.

On the weekend, the season’s top four teams headed into the Finals Series. The 2011 Champions Victoria Dandenong Rangers, Stacks Goudkamp Bears, Be Active Western Stars and Sydney Uni Flames.


The first semi final starred Victoria Dandenong Rangers and Stacks Goudkamp Bears. The first quarter was extremely close, with Dandenong leading by just 1 point. The Rangers knew that they had to win this game to secure their place in the Gold medal match. By half time, the Rangers had extended their lead by 14 points. Stacks held their ground in the third quarter, with Kylie Gauci and Mari Amimoto matching point for point against the Rangers. MVP of the Finals Series, Cobi Crispin was outstanding adding 28 points to the scoreboard. The Rangers didn’t hold anything back and defeated Stacks 77 – 54, directly earning their place in the Grand Final.


In game two The Be Active Western Stars and Sydney Uni Flames went head to head. Early on in the game, the Western Stars galloped ahead with a strong 12 point lead. The Flames held their ground in the second quarter and with All Star Five Sarah Stewart’s fast shooting, outpaced the Stars for points (19-14) in the third quarter. However, Amber Merritt, the Season Top Scorer was unstoppable in the final quarter giving the Western Stars a decisive win. The Be Active Western Stars defeated Sydney Uni Flames 56 – 35.


In Saturday’s preliminary final, the Western Stars earned the right to play Stacks Goudkamp Bears. The stakes were high as the winner of this match would continue to the Grand Final to play against the hosts, Victoria Dandenong Rangers.


The Bears leapt into action early, with the game’s top scorer Mari Amimoto (25 pts) and Kathleen O’Kelly combining to be an opposing force. By half time, the Bears led by 24 points. The Bears maintained their strong defense and ensured that the Western Stars couldn’t close the gap. The Stars had no response to the overwhelming opposition and were defeated by 28 points, 64 – 36.


In the Bronze medal match, Amber Merritt was impressive as the lead scorer for the Western Stars with 34 points. Her momentum was contagious rolling the Be Active Western Stars into the lead. The Western Stars led by 15 points in the first half. The Sydney Uni Flames maintained a strong presence in the second half, steadily closing the gap. But competition heated up in the final quarter and there just wasn’t enough time for the Flames. The Western Stars defeated the Flames 63 – 54.



In the lead up to the Finals Series, there were serious doubts against the ladder leaders Victoria Dandenong Rangers making it to the Gold medal match. With multiple players out for injury, the team was left with only 6 players. But there was never any doubt within the Dandenong Rangers team. In the Grand Final, The Victoria Dandenong Rangers were determined and magnificent. If there was any doubt regarding how they’d perform during the Gold medal match, these doubters were left stunned and mute.


No way were the Rangers going to lose in front of their home crowd and they were certainly going to keep their Championship Title. Unfortunately for the Stacks Goudkamp Bears, the Bears never stood a chance against the fierce passion of the Rangers. The Rangers charged early in the first quarter coming to an 8 point lead. Not satisfied with the gap, Cobi Crispin, MVP of the Finals Series, further widened the gap so that by half time, the Rangers were leading by 17 points. The Bears continued to battle with Season MVP Kylie Gauci boosting the Bears morale but after half time, the Rangers’ teamwork was unbeatable. Cobi Crispin scored 29 points, Leanne Del Toso 17 pts and Captain Shelley Chaplin, this year’s Most Valuable 3 Pointer, added 16 points to the scoreboard. Beyond any doubt, the Victoria Dandenong Rangers are the 2012 Champions defeating the Bears 78 – 39.


“Congratulations to all the teams for a brilliant season” said Gillian Ting, Executive Officer of Australian Athletes With a Disability. “The WNWBL Executive would very much like to thank our sponsors for their support during 2012. Special thanks to all the players, coaches, officials and volunteers who make the WNWBL possible. It has been a marvellous finish to a great season and we’re looking forward to an amazing 2013 season.”


If you missed all the action on the weekend, stay tuned, for the 2012 WNWBL Finals will be televised on Aurora Community Channel. Catch the Championship Game in detailed action airing from this weekend through to August. The broadcast negotiated by Aurora with Australian Athletes With a Disability has been made possible by Australian Athletes With a Disability, Aurora Community Channel and Lacework Productions.



2012 WNWBL Finals Results


Semi Final

Victoria Dandenong Rangers



Stacks Goudkamp Bears


Semi Final

The Be Active Western Stars



Sydney Uni Flames


Preliminary Final

Stacks Goudkamp Bears



The Be Active Western Stars


Bronze Medal

The Be Active Western Stars



Sydney Uni Flames


Gold Medal

Victoria Dandenong Rangers



Stacks Goudkamp Bears




2012 WNWBL Awards


2012 WNWBL Champions

Victoria Dandenong Rangers

2012 WNWBL 2nd Place

Stacks Goudkamp Bears

2012 WNWBL 3rd Place

Be Active Western Stars

2012 WNWBL Best New Talent

Jasmine Clarke – MineCraft Comets

2012 WNWBL Season Top Scorer

Amber Merritt – Be Active Western Stars

2012 WNWBL MVP 1 Pointer & All Star Five

Amanda Carter – Victoria Dandenong Rangers

2012 WNWBL MVP 2 Pointer & All Star Five

Kylie Gauci – Stacks Goudkamp Bears

2012 WNWBL MVP 3 Pointer & All Star Five

Shelley Chaplin – Victoria Dandenong Rangers

2012 WNWBL MVP 4 Pointer & All Star Five

Amber Merritt – Be Active Western Stars

2012 WNWBL All Star Five

Sarah Stewart – Sydney Uni Flames

2012 WNWBL MVP of the Season

Kylie Gauci – Stacks Goudkamp Bears

2012 WNWBL MVP of the Final Series

Cobi Crispin – Victoria Dandenong Rangers




2012 WNWBL Finals TV Coverage

Aurora Community Channel Screening Schedule





Saturday 30th   1:00 pm




Monday 2nd      11:30 am

Wednesday 4th             10:30 pm

Thursday 5th    3:00 pm

Saturday 14th   8:30 pm

Wednesday 18th   4:00 pm

Tuesday 24th    10:30 pm




Screening times to be announced




International Day of People With Disability – Celebrating 20 years

Screening times to be announced














Comment Guidelines: The SportingPulse Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2014 WNWBL