

The Black Diamond Football League (BDAFL) is situated on the east coast of Australia in the state of New South Wales, north of Sydney and covers an area of more than 150 lineal kilometres from Terrigal Avoca in the South to Nelson Bay in the north. The Singleton Club is 40 minutes drive west of Newcastle.

It was formed at the end of the 1999 season with a combination of clubs from the Central Coast and Newcastle Football Leagues.

The league comprises 10 clubs. In 2009 eight in First Grade, ten in Reserve Grade and nine in the Under 18 competition. Plans are for 10 clubs in each grade in 2010.

Six of the clubs are Hunter based whilst another four are on the Central Coast. The most northern club in the league is Nelson Bay, Singleton is the most Western and the most southern is Terrigal Avoca.

Not all clubs field three grades but the league has given those clubs which don't, a time frame in which to work towards a full complement.

The initial premier in the League was the Terrigal-Avoca Panthers in 2000 then West Newcastle Wallsend Demons in 2001, Cardiff Hawks in 2002, Newcastle City Blues in 2003 and the Hawks again in 2004, 2005 & 2006, Killarney Vale in 2007 and Newcastle City in 2008.

The premiership trophy in the league is the Black Diamond Cup which was first played for in 1888 and won by the Wallsend Club. The trophy is said to be the oldest Australian sporting trophy still being contested even outdates cricket's Sheffield Shield and is housed in the Newcastle Museum.

The League has an Umpires Association and both the Central Coast and Newcastle have junior competitions. This group forms a region which in total fields 83 teams with approximately 2,000 players registered.

The BDAFL is administered by an independent Board of Management who oversee all aspects of the competition.

The day to day activities are managed by a part time general manager. It is one of the league's goals to have this position revert to full time.

YEAR	PRESIDENT	GENERAL MANAGER	PREMIER	B & F	VOTES	LEADING GOALKICKER	GOALS
2000	*David Phillips Chris Arnold	Michael Coligan	Terrigal Avoca	Troy Bayliss Card	18	Maurice Goolagong TA	73
2001	Chris Arnold	Greg Stewart	West Newcastle- Wallsend	Shawn Simpson Card	20	Maurice Goolagong TA	135
2002	Chris Arnold	Greg Stewart	Cardiff	David Hamilton T-A	20	+Maurice Goolagong TA David Healey Card	102 *114
2003	Barry Leacy	Greg Stewart	Newcastle City	Jason Coulloupas N-C	16	Maurice Goolagong TA	124
2004	lan Granland OAM	Greg Stewart	Cardiff	Jason Coulloupas N-C	22	Maurice Goolagong TA	123
2005	lan Granland OAM	Garry Burkinshaw	Cardiff	Clint Austerberry KV	24	Maurice Goolagong TA	88
2006	lan Granland OAM	Garry Burkinshaw	Cardiff	Clint Austerberry KV Angus Darling TA	23	Michael Ryan Card	95
2007	lan Granland OAM	Scott Ledwidge	Killarney Vale	Tim Sheldon Card	20	Courtney Knight N-C	118
2008	Steve Smith	*Scott Ledwidge Les Honorary	Newcastle City	Luke Rawnsley N-C	21	Michael Ryan Card	110
2009	Steve Smith	Scott Ledwidge					

<sup>\*</sup>Resigned +Includes finals. All goalkicking records includes finals where applicable