Sport is healthy, it keeps you in shape, teaches you how to handle losing, gives you moments of victory, makes you appreciate things like teamwork, support, community and mateship, and always produces ...
10:12AM, Wed 9 April 2008

Golf is like life

Golf is like life

So i've been playing a lot of golf lately. Got myself a pair of those fancy pants and everything (see attached, 5 bucks, jeans west, intentionally high cut aka flood pants). I have dusted off the old clubs of about 12 years and given the set an upgrade, got a fancy new driver, a lob wedge and a couple of hybrids, and we're now in business, i even got a fancy new bag that has a cooler in it which is nice, and anew 3-wheeler buggy. I have my pregame routine all set too:

  • wallet, phone and keys in the front pocket of golf bag, phone on silent
  • golf tees (long ones for driver, short for irons and hybrids, 3 of each) and balls in respective slots on new buggy
  • scorecard in scorecard section of new buggy
  • club covers removed off driver and hybrids, placed in golf bag side section
  • 2 drinks purchased from pro shop, placed in cooler section of new bag
  • glove removed from front section of new bag, placed on left hand
  • back stretches
    .....and we're ready to go.

So why is golf like life? Well, for me anyway, here are the reasons:

  • it's full of ups and downs
  • it's a constant challenge (if you want to improve)
  • if you get too far ahead of yourself, it will bring you back down to earth pretty quickly
  • you get angry with yourself
  • you have shining moments that fill you with pride
  • sometimes if you play a new course, you never know what's around the corner
  • you can always try a different club (i still dont quite know what i mean by this but it sounds kind of clever/stupid)

So this is why i love it right now. My last round was a shocker, after 3 games in a row of sub-100 score i blew it on the back 9 at Morack and ended up with 101. Triple bogey's will have that effect/affect.

So where to from here? Well, i'm bound to be playing every weekend now for a while, surrounded by a couple of mates that are both as addicted as me, i'm in what some may call a 'phase'. I'd like to play as many public courses in Melbourne as i can this year, i prefer playing new courses to the same ones over and over again, though that probably doesnt help my scores, but such is golf.

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
12:04PM, Wed 9 April 2008
There is a famous quote about golf........Golf is a good walk ruined!
Reply to Sydney Swans Fans Page
 
12:04PM, Wed 9 April 2008
Nice Post Sammy. Will have to come out for a game some time during the year and embarrass myself
Reply to Clarky
 
alert

You must login to myFIBA to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to myFIBA

 
Recent Entries
09:06PM, Sat 2 January 2010
 
10:39AM, Mon 10 November 2008
 
11:05AM, Mon 27 October 2008
 
01:16AM, Thu 21 August 2008
 
12:33PM, Mon 11 August 2008
 
01:09PM, Mon 28 July 2008
 
01:08AM, Wed 9 July 2008
 
01:00AM, Thu 12 June 2008
 
11:31AM, Wed 21 May 2008
 
11:17AM, Mon 19 May 2008
 
10:13AM, Thu 15 May 2008
 
10:58AM, Thu 8 May 2008
 
02:35PM, Mon 21 April 2008
 
10:12AM, Wed 9 April 2008
 
11:05AM, Thu 6 March 2008
 
10:04AM, Mon 18 February 2008
 
10:16AM, Thu 7 February 2008
 
02:45PM, Sun 27 January 2008
 
02:21PM, Fri 14 December 2007
 
02:32PM, Thu 29 November 2007
 
03:54PM, Thu 22 November 2007
 
10:30AM, Wed 31 October 2007
 
10:10AM, Thu 25 October 2007
 
10:08AM, Mon 24 September 2007
 
10:41AM, Tue 21 August 2007
 
04:53AM, Tue 21 August 2007