02:36PM, Fri 11 July 2008

Puerto Rico loses to Slovenia, makes final cut:

Puerto Rico loses to Slovenia, makes final cut:

MARIBOR (FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament) - Puerto Rico fell to Slovenia 79-68 to finish their tour of warm up games at the Alpos Cup prior to the 2008 FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament that starts on July 14 in Athens, Greece.

In a losing effort Carlos Arroyo led Puerto Rico with 21 points as he made his debut for the team in Europe. Daniel Santiago netted 16 points and Peter John Ramos 7.

Rasho Nesterovic led the winners with 16 points and Domen Lorbek 15.

Slovenia dominated the whole game by winning the first quarter 21-14 and at halftime they controlled the game 41-28.

The Puerto Ricans finished with a 3-2 record in their warm up games in Germany and Slovenia.

Now the team moves to Greece for their big tournament as they try to grab one of the three spots remaining in the 2008 Olympic Games. Their debut is on July 15 against Cameroon.

2008 Puerto Rican National Team:

Player Height Position Team
Carlos Arroyo 6’2" PG Orlando Magic (NBA)
José Juan Barea 5’11" PG Dallas Mavericks (NBA)
Filiberto Rivera 6’2" PG Gigantes de Carolina
Larry Ayuso 6’2" SG Cangrejeros de Santurce
Javier Mojica 6’1" SG Cariduros de Fajardo
Joel Jones Camacho 6’6" SG/SF Leones de Ponce
Carmelo Antrone Lee 6’7" SF Conquistadores de Guaynabo
Ricky Sánchez 6’11" PF Grises de Humacao
Alexander Falcón 6’7" PF Cangrejeros de Santurce
Peter John Ramos 7’3" C Criollos de Caguas
Daniel Santiago 7’1" C Unicaja Málaga (ACB)
Luis Villafañe 6’10" C Gigantes de Carolina

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
No comments have been posted yet
alert

You must login to myFIBA to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to myFIBA

 
Recent Entries
03:04PM, Tue 4 August 2009
 
04:43AM, Thu 16 April 2009
 
05:44PM, Wed 1 April 2009
 
04:37PM, Tue 17 February 2009
 
04:19PM, Mon 9 February 2009
 
07:06AM, Sun 18 January 2009
 
06:10PM, Wed 14 January 2009
 
11:57AM, Fri 9 January 2009
 
02:38PM, Sun 28 December 2008
 
09:49AM, Thu 25 December 2008
 
03:30PM, Tue 23 December 2008
 
06:05AM, Sat 6 December 2008
 
04:29AM, Thu 16 October 2008
 
04:49PM, Thu 25 September 2008
 
04:06PM, Fri 22 August 2008
 
09:45AM, Thu 7 August 2008
 
07:36AM, Wed 9 July 2008
 
03:07AM, Sun 6 July 2008