...
09:55PM, Mon 2 March 2009

Referal system - it's just not cricket

Referal system - it's just not cricket

Watching the cricket tonight I was astounded by the decision not givve Jaques Kallis out with the first delivery with the second new ball.  Billy Bowden had given Kallis out when the ball hit the bottom of his back leg straight in front but Bowden was given advice by the third umpire that the ball had pitched outside the line of off stump.  This was not true because half the ball was in the strike zone and half was outside of it.  Surely the current system needs to be looked at with several decisions both in south Africa and the west indies being very controversial.  The Kallis decision is the sort of the decision that ruins the game because I believe that every one of the umpires on the ICC elite panel would have given him out but an estimate of where the ball pitched coupled with no clear definition of what 'pitched in line means' is only going to cause more controversy and more confusion for players, umpires and fans.

Luckily for the Aussies Kallis played the ball on to his stumps the next over from Johnson to leave the Aussies needing 5 wickets in the remaining two sessions with the upper hand.

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
09:49AM, Tue 3 March 2009
It's a joke, that's what it is.
Reply to The Yapper
 
alert

You must login to myFootyweb to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to myFootyweb

 
Recent Entries
09:55PM, Mon 2 March 2009
 
04:15PM, Thu 11 December 2008
 
12:34PM, Sun 5 October 2008
 
09:56PM, Wed 3 September 2008
 
01:18PM, Tue 2 September 2008
 
11:14PM, Thu 14 August 2008
 
06:56PM, Mon 28 July 2008
 
07:15PM, Wed 9 July 2008
 
05:48PM, Sun 6 July 2008
 
12:51AM, Fri 4 July 2008