also find us at: ...
03:34PM, Tue 5 May 2009

Top sporting action in the Top End at the 2009 Arafura Games

The 2009 Arafura Games gets underway in Darwin on Saturday 9 May with the opening ceremony marking the start of nine days of top class sporting competition from the emerging champions of the Asia Pacific region.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Arafura Games and there are 27 sports, as well as the return of the Oceania Open Paralympic Championships.

SportingPulse is once again proud to be the technology partner and sponsor of the Arafura Games.

SportingPulse software is being used to generate schedules and results for the 27 sports.

Games competitors who join mySport, can display their event information on their own personal website.

They can also keep a permanent record of their Games experience on their Sports Log and upload photos, slide shows and videos, which they can share with their fellow competitors and friends and family back home.

Two members of the SportingPulse Events Team are on site in Darwin to give support throughout the event.

Unlike the Olympics, the Arafura Games is not pitched at the world's elite athletes. The Games is a development Games where regional and development teams can mix with national teams to experience an international sporting event.

As well as the traditional sports, there are events specific to the region. Sepak Takraw is kick vollyball played with a rattan ball and Thai boxing, Muay Thai, has been added as a new sport this year along with Darts.

Northern Territory Minister for Sport and Recreation Kon Vatskalis said: "The Arafura Games is the premier sporting event of the Territory and is about strengthening relationships with our Asian neighbours, bringing top class sporting competition to the Top End and showcasing emerging champions of the Asia Pacific region.”

SportingPulse CEO Nick Maywald said: “SportingPulse is proud of its association with the The Arafura Games and to once again be its technology partner and sponsor.”

“Everybody at SportingPulse would like to wish all the competitors, staff and volunteers a very Happy Games!”

To find out more about the Arafura Games, click here to visit the website.

To join mySport, go to

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report


09:42PM, Wed 6 May 2009
one sport to look out for at arafura games is Sepak Takraw take a look at this video, im suprised you don't see more of this on TV
Reply to Azza
12:28PM, Wed 27 May 2009
How do they do that? It's amazing. Another sport to add to the list of those I couldn't even contemplate trying!
Reply to Suz

You must login to mySport to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to mySport

Recent Entries
04:36PM, Mon 13 December 2010
03:30PM, Mon 22 November 2010
02:34PM, Fri 12 November 2010
03:42PM, Fri 23 April 2010
09:54AM, Mon 29 March 2010
12:22PM, Wed 3 March 2010
10:22AM, Tue 9 February 2010
01:37PM, Tue 24 November 2009
04:17PM, Mon 2 November 2009
08:05PM, Wed 21 October 2009
10:35AM, Fri 4 September 2009
12:03PM, Tue 25 August 2009
03:05PM, Thu 6 August 2009
04:33PM, Mon 6 July 2009
02:50PM, Wed 24 June 2009
04:30PM, Thu 18 June 2009
07:47AM, Mon 15 June 2009
10:34AM, Fri 5 June 2009
06:32PM, Thu 28 May 2009
11:45AM, Mon 18 May 2009
11:27AM, Mon 9 February 2009
10:17AM, Tue 20 January 2009
10:57AM, Wed 24 December 2008
01:08PM, Tue 23 December 2008
11:13AM, Wed 10 December 2008
02:59PM, Tue 9 December 2008
02:19PM, Mon 1 December 2008
10:40AM, Wed 19 November 2008
12:49PM, Fri 14 November 2008