It takes Mr. Busy just seconds to do something that would take us half an hour. He is always on the go, and expects others to keep up with him. Which, of course, they can't. ...
10:29AM, Fri 31 July 2009

World Swimming - What A Joke!


Can someone please sit the heavyweights of FINA down and slap them about until they wake up to themselves and understand that the world is currently laughing at them! The current World Swimming Championships and the ridiculous situation with these 'floating devices' they call swimsuits has cast a huge dark cloud over the sport.

Seconds are being smashed off world records courtesy of a swimsuit, not sheer talent. And then, to make matters worse, FINA tells the world that the suits will be banned from future meets but the current records (set with the suits) will stand.

What? Are you for real? That's like telling the V8 Supercar drivers that they can have two engines in the car instead of one for the next race and every record they set will stand, even though they must return to one engine from then on.

It's like strapping an outboard motor to a horse in the Melbourne Cup for one year only and letting the race record time stand for all time.

Grant Hackett's 800mtr world record was smashed by seven seconds by a swimmer who looked like he was floating on the water. He looked like a hovercraft. These hydrofoil swimsuits give swimmers an unfair advantage, it is no longer a pure and natural sport.

The big question now is if FINA admits that these suits should be banned, why on earth would you allow world records that were set by swimmers wearing them to stand?

More than 100 world records have been set with these new-age suits. Let's get back to basics and make all swimmers jump into the pool wearing their birthday suits! Imagine the television ratings? Swimming would be the most popular sport in the world! 

We all know that an ostrich hides its head in the sand, but can it drown in a pool of water?

Wake up, FINA! 

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
10:50AM, Fri 31 July 2009
Not sure about the birthday suits mate, but yes what a debarcle this event is. 5 world records per day - the swimmers know why, we know why, it just makes a joke of the concept of a world record. When the development of a material has more bearing on records than the development of the athletes there's something seriously wrong.

And as for FINA - the way they have handled this topic is up there with the AFL and Demetriou denying the tanking factor in terms of priority picks. It's not controversy, it's just common sense (or lack thereof).
Reply to Sam Fewster
 
06:51PM, Fri 31 July 2009
i agree brin back the old swimsuits and make the swimmers earn their world records fair and square.
Reply to Shazza
 
05:35PM, Wed 12 August 2009
FINA has been digging itself into a great big hole for a number of years with the various versions of the streamlined swimsuits. They should have been outlawed from the start, but no FINA just sat on its hands. Just about every world record has been broken muliple times in the last few years by swimmers wearing the new streamlined swimsuits. Up until the fiasco of the 2009 World Championships, FINA was turning a blind eye to the fact that the only way for a swimmer to compete (& break records) was for them to wear a new streamloned swimsuit. Any swimmer who could not get hold of a new streamlined swimsuit did not have a chance competing against the new streamlined swimsuited competitors. I thought that swimming competition was about the ability of the swimmer not the ability of the swimsuit manufacturer. FINA's response to the super suits just shows that they stuffed up big time!
Reply to Alastair Graham
 
alert

You must login to myFIBA to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to myFIBA

 
Recent Entries
09:46AM, Fri 27 November 2009
 
10:29AM, Fri 31 July 2009
 
01:03PM, Wed 27 May 2009
 
11:29AM, Tue 26 May 2009
 
03:10PM, Mon 11 May 2009
 
10:07AM, Thu 30 April 2009
 
03:24PM, Fri 17 April 2009
 
04:18PM, Tue 14 April 2009
 
11:52AM, Mon 6 April 2009
 
09:53PM, Mon 23 March 2009
 
03:14PM, Fri 13 March 2009
 
03:03PM, Mon 16 February 2009
 
09:00AM, Tue 20 January 2009
 
10:11AM, Mon 5 January 2009
 
04:22PM, Mon 8 December 2008
 
11:45AM, Mon 24 November 2008
 
11:03AM, Fri 21 November 2008
 
12:23PM, Mon 17 November 2008
 
09:29AM, Thu 13 November 2008
 
08:48AM, Mon 10 November 2008
 
10:13AM, Sun 12 October 2008
 
09:09AM, Tue 23 September 2008
 
11:17AM, Thu 4 September 2008
 
09:20AM, Thu 4 September 2008
 
04:04PM, Mon 25 August 2008
 
09:38AM, Thu 21 August 2008
 
01:59PM, Wed 20 August 2008
 
10:53AM, Tue 19 August 2008
 
10:36AM, Fri 15 August 2008
 
01:14PM, Wed 13 August 2008
 
12:40PM, Fri 1 August 2008
 
06:46PM, Mon 28 July 2008
 
12:21PM, Wed 23 July 2008
 
10:08AM, Tue 22 July 2008
 
04:18PM, Mon 14 July 2008
 
12:55PM, Mon 7 July 2008
 
04:09PM, Thu 3 July 2008
 
01:53PM, Tue 1 July 2008
 
11:23AM, Mon 30 June 2008
 
12:47PM, Mon 23 June 2008
 
10:41AM, Fri 13 June 2008
 
12:37PM, Tue 10 June 2008
 
09:36PM, Mon 2 June 2008
 
10:16AM, Tue 27 May 2008
 
05:40PM, Tue 13 May 2008
 
01:26PM, Sat 3 May 2008
 
09:49AM, Wed 30 April 2008
 
12:04PM, Mon 28 April 2008
 
05:59PM, Fri 25 April 2008