06:53PM, Wed 18 April 2012

Alves keen on Bale

Barcelona star Dani Alves admits Gareth Bale is a player he loves to watch and described him as a "full-back in the Brazilian style".

The talented Welsh flyer has been linked with a move to the Nou Camp after impressing for Tottenham Hotspur both at home and abroad. Officials from the Catalan giants have travelled to England to watch Bale on a number of occasions this season. Those betting on football in favour of Spurs would love to see Bale attack opposition from deep.

Alves rates the 22-year-old highly and expects him to flourish as a full-back rather than a winger in the years to come.

"He is a player I love to watch. The idea Bale has of football is really quite similar to the Brazilian perspective," the Brazil international told The Independent.

"He is a full-back in the Brazilian style. In Europe they play more defensively so they tend to play him as a winger, but in my team he would be a full-back. He is a spectacular player."

While Alves believes Bale is a high-class player, he could not say whether he would fit into Barcelona’s philosophy.

"Barca always sign players who they know will fit into the team. It's never a case of, 'Oh he's playing well. People are talking about him a lot so let's sign him'," Alves added.

"Barcelona look at everything. They ask themselves if the player can fit 'here, here and here' and if they decide that yes, he would fit 'there, there and there', then they make their move."

Alves, who will line up against Chelsea in the first leg of the Champions League semi-final at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday, refused to rule out a move to the Premier League in the future.

"You always have to leave the doors open because we don't know what is going to happen tomorrow," he added.

The odds of Spurs qualifying for the Champions League next year has slipped in Premier League best odds

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
No comments have been posted yet
alert

You must login to mySport to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to mySport

 
Recent Entries
11:59PM, Wed 9 April 2014
 
09:08PM, Thu 30 January 2014
 
02:42AM, Sat 11 January 2014
 
01:46AM, Sat 11 January 2014
 
12:46AM, Sat 11 January 2014
 
10:32PM, Fri 10 January 2014
 
10:36PM, Thu 9 January 2014
 
09:39PM, Wed 8 January 2014
 
10:04PM, Tue 7 January 2014
 
08:40PM, Tue 7 January 2014
 
08:45PM, Thu 2 January 2014
 
09:49PM, Mon 16 December 2013
 
12:21AM, Wed 4 December 2013
 
10:49PM, Thu 28 November 2013
 
10:44PM, Thu 28 November 2013
 
01:38AM, Thu 28 November 2013
 
01:03AM, Fri 22 November 2013
 
10:24PM, Mon 11 November 2013
 
08:16PM, Mon 11 November 2013
 
12:54AM, Sat 9 November 2013
 
02:13AM, Fri 8 November 2013
 
01:33AM, Thu 7 November 2013
 
12:29AM, Tue 5 November 2013
 
07:46PM, Thu 17 October 2013
 
12:53AM, Fri 11 October 2013
 
09:15PM, Thu 10 October 2013
 
12:57AM, Thu 10 October 2013
 
09:00PM, Wed 9 October 2013
 
12:40AM, Wed 9 October 2013
 
09:20PM, Tue 8 October 2013
 
02:40AM, Tue 1 October 2013
 
08:50PM, Tue 24 September 2013
 
01:05AM, Thu 19 September 2013
 
10:45PM, Fri 13 September 2013
 
10:15PM, Tue 3 September 2013
 
12:06AM, Sat 24 August 2013
 
11:27PM, Tue 20 August 2013
 
08:40PM, Tue 13 August 2013
 
07:48PM, Mon 5 August 2013
 
12:05AM, Wed 31 July 2013
 
08:08PM, Fri 26 July 2013
 
07:05PM, Thu 25 July 2013
 
08:15PM, Wed 24 July 2013
 
11:05PM, Mon 22 July 2013
 
07:20PM, Fri 19 July 2013
 
10:02PM, Fri 12 July 2013