10:03PM, Mon 14 May 2012

Stormers look to youth

South African side Stormers have been dealt a fairly hefty blow with the news that in-form youngster Nizaam Carr will miss the remainder of the Super Rugby season with a knee injury.

The number eight tore ligaments during the Stormers’ narrow 16-14 victory against the Cheetahs in early May, with scans now confirming the worst and ruling the 21-year-old out for the rest of the current domestic campaign.

Head coach Allister Coetzee will now have a real job on his hands to replace Carr, after having already being forced to contend with the absences of several other key players. Jebb Sinclair, who only joined the club from London Irish at the beginning of May, replaced Carr against the Cheetahs and looks set to continue at number-eight for the rest of the season.

The Canadian forward has been given the backing of Coetzee, who will now look towards the club’s young, local forwards to cover the number-eight position for the rest of the season.

“Sinclair does play towards the ball as a No 8 which is a good sign and he is also a good ball-carrier so I think he will be the number eight next week because we have got no other option,” said Coetzee.

“It is short notice (to look abroad) so I think that we have to look at (local) players like Nick Fenton-Wells and Don Armand for this weekend.”

The Stormers boss and fans of the club from within the Betfair rugby community will be hoping the loss of Carr doesn’t knock the team off their stride and affect their promising start to the season. Coetzee’s side have been one of the league’s in-form teams and are in a good position to mount a genuine challenge for honours.

The loss of such an influential player like Carr will need to be managed by Coetzee if the club are going to be able to keep pace with Super Rugby’s front-runners.

Check out the latest Aviva Premiership odds at Betfair.

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
No comments have been posted yet
alert

You must login to mySport to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to mySport

 
Recent Entries
11:59PM, Wed 9 April 2014
 
09:08PM, Thu 30 January 2014
 
02:42AM, Sat 11 January 2014
 
01:46AM, Sat 11 January 2014
 
12:46AM, Sat 11 January 2014
 
10:32PM, Fri 10 January 2014
 
10:36PM, Thu 9 January 2014
 
09:39PM, Wed 8 January 2014
 
10:04PM, Tue 7 January 2014
 
08:40PM, Tue 7 January 2014
 
08:45PM, Thu 2 January 2014
 
09:49PM, Mon 16 December 2013
 
12:21AM, Wed 4 December 2013
 
10:49PM, Thu 28 November 2013
 
10:44PM, Thu 28 November 2013
 
01:38AM, Thu 28 November 2013
 
01:03AM, Fri 22 November 2013
 
10:24PM, Mon 11 November 2013
 
08:16PM, Mon 11 November 2013
 
12:54AM, Sat 9 November 2013
 
02:13AM, Fri 8 November 2013
 
01:33AM, Thu 7 November 2013
 
12:29AM, Tue 5 November 2013
 
07:46PM, Thu 17 October 2013
 
12:53AM, Fri 11 October 2013
 
09:15PM, Thu 10 October 2013
 
12:57AM, Thu 10 October 2013
 
09:00PM, Wed 9 October 2013
 
12:40AM, Wed 9 October 2013
 
09:20PM, Tue 8 October 2013
 
02:40AM, Tue 1 October 2013
 
08:50PM, Tue 24 September 2013
 
01:05AM, Thu 19 September 2013
 
10:45PM, Fri 13 September 2013
 
10:15PM, Tue 3 September 2013
 
12:06AM, Sat 24 August 2013
 
11:27PM, Tue 20 August 2013
 
08:40PM, Tue 13 August 2013
 
07:48PM, Mon 5 August 2013
 
12:05AM, Wed 31 July 2013
 
08:08PM, Fri 26 July 2013
 
07:05PM, Thu 25 July 2013
 
08:15PM, Wed 24 July 2013
 
11:05PM, Mon 22 July 2013
 
07:20PM, Fri 19 July 2013
 
10:02PM, Fri 12 July 2013