I am a passionate supporter of Australian Rules football. I began playing as a junior for the Clayton Football Club in suburban Melbourne in 1972. After that I played for the Sorrento and Rye clubs on ...
10:57AM, Sat 19 May 2012

All The Fun Of The Fair.

For better or worse, last night's win against Cairns Saints had almost everything. The result, Power 10 12 72 to Saints 1 1 7 does not reflect the level of entertainment witnessed for three and a half quarters. It also does not show the way the game ended on a low with the reports and all in brawl.

The cold hard facts say that we won the game we had to win to stay in the finals race. Saints threw everything at us and were unlucky not to have more on the scoreboard. Full credit here to our defence who continued to shut down the opposition. Especially so in the case of lesser lights like James A and RaRa who played as if they believed they were meant to be there. Our conversion on the night was effected by the driving wind and rain. We won the game in the 2nd and last quarters kicking into a howling gale, keeping them goal less.

But the price will be paid for those last few minutes. Two players red carded and one other yellow carded as a result of an all in brawl will have big ramifications on our season. The tribunal will deliver their verdicts and the kids will hopefully learn from it. But the longer term issue is whether our season be railroaded by those few minutes of ill discipline and lack of care?

And, sadly, this is what will be remembered after what had been a highly entertaining game, played at a frantic pace with wet weather skills that defied logic at times. Those first three quarters really had all the fun of the fair.

As coach, I need to put those last minutes behind me and address the kids who play next week to walk away. Play football. Concentrate. We have a highly winnable game next week to square our season ledger after 9 rounds. That is the next focus.

I just hope the boys see the folly of last night, and how the team and individual can stand to lose so much for a few moments of brain fades and testosterone overload.

But, to those who put their football first, congratulations. Our mission was to win and we did. We are still in the finals race. Our season could sill offer a great deal, and that is what I will be focused on.

Share this Sports Log: Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Post to MySpace!
Comments Comments   View All View all   Report Inappropriate Content Report

Comments

Comments
No comments have been posted yet
alert

You must login to myFootyweb to post comments or create your own blog

Click here to register or login to myFootyweb

 
Recent Entries
11:01PM, Tue 20 November 2012
 
02:10PM, Wed 5 September 2012
 
08:32AM, Tue 28 August 2012
 
05:16PM, Fri 10 August 2012
 
07:58AM, Sat 4 August 2012
 
11:18PM, Fri 27 July 2012
 
11:42PM, Fri 13 July 2012
 
08:14AM, Sat 23 June 2012
 
07:49AM, Sat 16 June 2012
 
12:42AM, Sat 9 June 2012
 
10:34PM, Fri 1 June 2012
 
10:36PM, Fri 25 May 2012
 
10:57AM, Sat 19 May 2012
 
11:21PM, Fri 4 May 2012
 
10:23PM, Fri 27 April 2012
 
10:33PM, Fri 20 April 2012
 
01:25PM, Sat 31 March 2012
 
05:44PM, Sat 17 March 2012
 
04:31PM, Fri 9 March 2012
 
10:25PM, Wed 1 February 2012
 
07:56PM, Thu 12 January 2012
 
03:44PM, Sun 8 January 2012
 
03:05PM, Sun 18 December 2011
 
08:26AM, Sun 25 September 2011
 
09:17PM, Sun 11 September 2011
 
11:15PM, Fri 19 August 2011
 
10:08AM, Sat 13 August 2011
 
08:14AM, Thu 4 August 2011
 
08:36AM, Thu 28 July 2011
 
08:47AM, Thu 21 July 2011
 
08:29AM, Thu 21 July 2011
 
08:24AM, Thu 21 July 2011
 
08:35AM, Thu 14 July 2011
 
12:15PM, Sat 11 June 2011
 
07:30AM, Sat 4 June 2011
 
08:32AM, Sat 28 May 2011
 
10:53PM, Fri 20 May 2011
 
08:19PM, Sat 14 May 2011
 
08:47AM, Sun 8 May 2011
 
12:02AM, Sat 30 April 2011
 
12:13PM, Tue 26 April 2011
 
11:57AM, Sun 17 April 2011
 
07:10AM, Sat 9 April 2011
 
11:19PM, Fri 1 April 2011
 
07:29PM, Sun 27 March 2011
 
11:28AM, Mon 17 January 2011
 
03:45PM, Fri 14 January 2011