

Fencing Victoria Annual General Meeting

7.30 pm Tuesday 24th November 2009

- 1. Attendance: Zoltan Vilagosh (Blacklords, Director), Simon Auty (Fioretto, President), Genevieve Lim (Chevalier, Director), Geoff Webber (Blacklords, Director), Caryl Oliver (BDFC, Director), Angela Dobson-Block (PFA), Nigel Bacon (PFA), Terry Cuddy (VRI), Rob Di Pasquale (Blacklords), Derek Flood (La Trobe University), Anthony Snelling (VRI), Brook Dunstan (Fioretto), Tony Heilberg (PFA), Adrian Fisher (MFC), Kenneth Yuen (Monash University), Leonie Shevlin (VRI), Alex Carroll (VRI), Pieter Leeuwenburgh (VRI), Chris Jones (VRI).
- 2. Apologies: Peter Osvath, Helen Smith, Andrew Ius, Joseph D'Onofrio, Patrick Lepicier, David Mok, Elli Wellings.

3. Minutes of the 2008 AGM and Matters Arising

Moved: Caryl Oliver	Seconded: Zoltan Vilagosh	
That the minutes of the 2008 Annual	General Meeting be accepted	Carried

4. Reports

a. President

Simon Auty spoke to the presented written report, noting key achievements of the association and Victoria athletes.

Moved: Brook DunstanSeconded: Caryl OliverThat the President's report be accepted.Carried

b. Finance Director

Simon Auty spoke to the presented written report. A question about GST on the profit and loss statement will be investigated and reported back to the Council at the next meeting.

Moved: Caryl Oliver	Seconded: Anthony Snelling	
That the Finance Director's rep	port be accepted.	Carried

c. Competition Manager

Simon Auty spoke to the Competition Manager's report.

Moved: Chris JonesSeconded: Zoltan VilagoshThat the Competition Manager's report be accepted.Carried

d. SDO/SDC

A brief verbal report was presented by the SDO.

5. Motions on Notice

Helen Smith – Life Member [Rule 6(1)]

Moved: Terry CuddySeconded: Pieter LeeuwenburghThat Helen Smith becomes a Life Member of Fencing Victoria for her services toFencing Victoria, the preceding organisation, the Victorian Amateur FencingAssociation, Inc. and to the sport of fencing generally.Carried Unanimously

Peter Osvath – Life Member [Rule 6(1)]

Moved: Simon Auty Seconded: Derek Flood

That Peter Osvath becomes a Life Member of Fencing Victoria for his services toFencing Victoria, the preceding organisation, the Victorian Amateur FencingAssociation, Inc. and to the sport of fencing generally.Carried Unanimously

Special Resolution – Changes to Rules [Rule 3]

Moved: Pieter Leeuwenburgh Seconded: Kenneth Yuen

That the Fencing Victoria Rules be amended as per the accompanying documents, and that the Public Officer submits an application to the Registrar for approval of the alteration of the Rules under s.22 of the Association Incorporations Act 1981. Carried by a majority of 57 to 25

Membership Categories [Rule 4(5)(a)]

Moved: Caryl Oliver

Seconded: Derek Flood

That sub-categories of Individual Member be recognised, known as "Full Senior Member", "Full Junior Member" and "Coaching Member"; and That sub-categories of Provisional Member be recognised, known as "School Member", "Club Member", or "Club/School Member". Carried Unanimously

Affiliation Fees Payable – 2010 [Rule 4(5)(c) & (d)]

Moved: Leonie Shevlin

Seconded: Geoff Webber

That the following affiliation fees are adopted for 2010: Full Senior Member (online): \$135 – Increase of \$5 Full Senior Member (offline/late): \$160 Full Junior Member or Coaching Member (online): \$75 – Increase of \$5 Full Junior Member or Coaching Member (offline/late): \$85 Club/School (online): \$15 – Increase of \$2 Club/School (offline/late): \$25

Club – Star 2 or 3: NIL – No Change Club – Star 1: \$50 – No Change Club – Other: \$230 – Increase of \$30

Carried Unanimously

6. Election of Executive and Officers

It was agreed that Tony Heilberg and Adrian Fisher would act as returning officers.

Zoltan Vilagosh took over proceedings as Chair for the election of President.

Following a ballot of members Zoltan Vilagosh declared Simon Auty unanimously elected as President.

Following a separate ballot of members for each position of Director, Simon Auty declared the following as elected to the executive:

- Geoff Webber (83 votes)
- Genevieve Lim (83 votes)
- Caryl Oliver (80 votes)
- Anthony Snelling (58 votes)

Anthony Snelling was elected as Public Officer: Moved: Caryl OliverSeconded: Pieter Leeuwenburg	Carried
Peter Osvath was elected Armourer: Moved: Genevieve Lim Seconded: Pieter Leeuwenburgh	Carried
Chris Jones was elected as Publicity Officer: Moved: Caryl Oliver Seconded: Kenneth Yuen	Carried

It was agreed that nominations received be appointed to the following positions and commissions:

- AFF Delegate: Caryl Oliver
- VOC Delegates: Caryl Oliver
- Coaches and Refereeing Commission: Elli Wellings, David Mok, Rob Di Pasquale
- Selection Commission: Elli Wellings, David Mok, Nick Mihailescu, Adam Reynolds
- Development Commission: Elli Wellings, David Mok, Brook Dunstan

The meeting closed at 9:45 p.m.