ANNUAL NCCUA AWARDS NIGHT 2010

The President and Committee would like to extend a warm and sincere welcome to our Annual Awards Presentation Night for 2010.

Firstly the Committee would like to take this opportunity to thank Sue Crowhurst for helping organise the event and devoting her precious time in decorating the room for tonight's function.

2010 represents the eleventh season the NCCUA has participated and provided umpires for the Black Diamond AFL competition. We reflect on the achievements of those umpires who have devoted their time over the last ten years to umpiring in the region. The following umpires are congratulated for their continued ongoing involvement in umpiring since the inception of the BDAFL competition in 2000. They include;

- Ray Dinneen, Roy Reichert and Neville Turner who have umpired for eleven seasons,
- Lee Gardener, Darrel Luck and Steve Welsh who have umpired for ten seasons,
- Phil Stone and John Sullivan who have umpired for nine seasons.

Without the involvement of these umpires, this Umpires Association would not be in existence today. We would like to take this opportunity to also recognise and thank our Life Members for their continued support and involvement in the Newcastle Central Coast Umpires Association and umpiring in the region.

Tonight we thank other past umpires and congratulate those umpires for setting the standards that have been put in place over the past eleven seasons. We recognise their efforts in announcing the 'Umpiring Panels of the Decade'. To be named in one of these three panels (BD Cup, Reserve Grade or Under 18's) is a great achievement which reflects the number of games umpired, the years of service in umpiring and the number of grand finals that they officiated in since 2000.

The Association would like to acknowledge and thank the 'Green Shirt' Umpires for their efforts and commitment to umpiring in 2010. The Umpiring pathway that the NCCUA has in place is providing results with young umpires being given opportunities at the highest level of competition in the region. We thank Roy Reichert (AFLGSJ Newcastle Umpires Manager), Roger Stokes (AFLGSJ Central Coast Umpires Manager) and Carl Fletcher (Umpire Development – North) for their continued support in making possible the opportunities for umpires to progress along the umpiring pathway. This can only continue in the future with the continued co-operation from the junior competitions in the region.

Tonight we celebrate the achievements of all the members of the NCCUA who umpired in the 2010 Black Diamond AFL, AFLGSJ Newcastle and AFLGSJ Central Coast competitions. We celebrate the efforts of all umpires in the NCCUA as they have worked hard to achieve their goals this year.

We would ask that at every opportunity that you please make your appreciation of umpires achievements known tonight by acclamation.

We would lastly like to take this opportunity to thank the following people for their help in 2010 -

- Mr Ron Oeser (Carlton and United Breweries), for his assistance in providing sponsorship to the NCCUA during 2010.
- Mr David Ferris, our resident photographer for the great snaps from games throughout the year.
- Mr Roger Crowhurst, for his help and assistance with coaching throughout 2010.

We thank you for sharing our night with us and helping to make this night the pinnacle of our umpiring season. We hope that you have a pleasant and fun evening.

We would like to leave you with this final thought that we as umpires believe highlights what umpiring is about,

'Success always occurs in private and failure in full view'.



NCCUA OFFICE BEARERS 2010

PRESIDENT
VICE PRESIDENT
SECRETARY
ASSISTANT
TREASURER

Darrel Luck
Steve Welsh
Richard Cornish
Shannon Oeser
Neville Turner

LIFE MEMBERS

Roger Crowhurst	Bill Deenen	Ray Dinneen
Peter Hoffman	Richard Judd	Richard Kenna
Darrel Luck	John McCormick	Pastor Robinson
Roy Riechert	Eric Rogers	Phil Stone
John Sullivan	Neville Turner	Steve Welsh

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Phil Behrendt	Roger Crowhurst	Peter Hampshire
Ron Oeser	Roy Reichert	Roger Stokes

UMPIRES COACH Peter Hampshire

ASSISTANT UMPIRES COACH

Christine Burrows

AFLGSJ CENTRAL COAST UMPIRES MANAGER/COACH Roger Stokes

AFLGSJ NEWCASTLE UMPIRES MANAGER/COACH Roy Reichert

SPONSORS

The NCCUA would like to take this opportunity to thank the following organisations for their support throughout 2010.

The Herald
Carlton & Untied Brewery
Leadership Management Australia
Swansea RSL Club

2010 BLACK DIAMOND CUP DEBUTANTS

Field Umpires

Aden Kittel and Daniel White

Boundary Umpires

Chris Alexander, Cameron Brooks, Daniel Gustard, Michael McKenzie, Shayne McKenzie, Andrew Thompson and Cooper Williams

Goal Umpires

Shannon Oeser

MILESTONES IN 2010

250 Games

Neville Turner – 250 BDAFL games

200 Games

Richard Cornish – 200 BDAFL games

150 Games

Richard Cornish 150 BDAFL games as a Goal Umpire

Phil Marriott 150 BDAFL games

150 BDAFL games as a Goal Umpire

Roy Reichert 150 BDAFL games

100 Games

Colin Goodenough 100 BDAFL games as a Boundary Umpire

Neville Turner 100 BDC as a Field Umpire

50 Games

Jonathan Behrendt – 50 BDAFL games as a Field Umpire

Tyler Druwitt – 50 BDC games as a Field Umpire

Wayne Farrand – 50 Under 18's games as a Goal Umpire

Aden Kittel 50 BDAFL games

Shannon Oeser – 50 BDAFL games 50 BDAFL games as a Boundary Umpire

2010 NORTHERN REGION DEVELOPMENT SQUAD

Nicholas Hickson (Boundary Umpire) – Black Diamond AFL Casey Parsons (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Newcastle Cameron Fox (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Newcastle Aden Kittel (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Newcastle Jackson Monk (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Newcastle Shannon Oeser (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Newcastle Daniel White (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Central Coast Brendan Favero (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Central Coast Dale Holland (Field Umpire) – AFLGSJ Central Coast

2010 AFL NSW/ACT UMPIRES DEVELOPMENT ACADEMY

Aden Kittel (Hunter Region)
Cameron Tunks (Central Coast Region)
Daniel White (Central Coast Region)

2010 NCCUA AWARDS

FIELD UMPIRE OF THE YEAR

JONATHAN BEHRENDT

GOAL UMPIRE OF THE YEAR
RICHARD CORNISH

BEST FIRST YEAR UMPIRE **DANIEL WHITE**

UMPIRE OF THE YEAR
JACKSON STOKES

BOUNDARY UMPIRE OF THE YEAR ANDREW THOMPSON

CLUBMAN OF THE YEAR
RON OESER

GOLDEN WHISTLE AWARD

(BEST UP AND COMING UMPIRE)

ADEN KITTEL

UMPIRING PANEL OF THE DEACDE (2000 – 2009)



BLACK DIAMOND CUP UMPIRING PANEL

FIELD UMPIRES

Roger Crowhurst, Grant Godfrey and Darrel Luck

BOUNDARY UMPIRES

Gavin Ellis and Hugh McLeod

GOAL UMPIRES

John Sullivan and Joe Wenta

RESERVE GRADE PANEL

FIELD UMPIRES

Bruce Edmiston, Phil Stone and Steve Welsh

BOUNDARY UMPIRES

Lee Gardener and Chris Rawling

GOAL UMPIRES

Richard Cornish and Peter Crosland

UNDER 18'S PANEL

FIELD UMPIRES

Ray Dinneen, Ricky Johnson and Neville Turner

BOUNDARY UMPIRES

Shane Lamborn and Shane Rogers

GOAL UMPIRES

David Robinson and Paul Vella